“From Russia with Love” Saturday, November 14, 2019

Written by: The Minot Symphony Orchestra

MINOT, ND, October 28, 2019 – The Minot Symphony Orchestra presents “From Russia with Love” on Nov. 16 at 7:30 pm in Ann Nicole Nelson Hall – MSU.
Explore three of the most well-known pieces in the Russian repertoire including Festival Overture by Shostakovich, Symphonic Dances by Rachmaninoff and Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 featuring Ukrainian-American pianist and Steinway Artist Marina Lomazov.
“For our second concert I have planned an old Russian program. I’m thrilled to have virtuoso pianist and my good friend Marina Lomazov joining us performing probably one of the best-known warhorses of the Russian Piano repertoire, Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1” said music director Efrain Amaya.
Ms. Lomazov is a Professor of Piano at the Eastman School of Music She has served as a jury member for the Cleveland International Piano Competition (Young Artists), Hilton Head International Piano Competition, Eastman International Piano Competition, Minnesota International Piano e-Competition, National federation Biennial young Artist Auditions and is currently serving as a chair for National Classical Music Panel for YoungArts, the only organization in the US that nominates US Presidential Scholars in the Arts. For 17 years, she served on the faculty of the University of Southern Carolina School of Music, where she held the chair of Ira McKissick Koger Professor of Fine Arts Music and currently holds a Guest Artist Residency. Together with her husband and piano duo partner Joseph Rackers, she co-founded and serves as Co-Artistic Director of the Southeastern Piano Festival in Columbia, SC. Lomazov has established herself as one of the most passionate and charismatic performers on the concert scene today.
“Yes, Marina Lomazov certainly did play Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 in B minor, but she did so much more. She breathed life and passion into the music’s very existence, digging deep into the marrow of its musical bones…She practically set the piano afire in the Allegro con fuoco of the third movement. She played with high drama and strength that threatened to overpower the entire orchestra. Mix astonishing technique with perfect accuracy and impeccably satisfying musicality. That’s the way Marina plays Tchaikovsky.” – Greg Barnes, The Free Times (November 17, 2014)
A pre-concert talk which is perfect for newcomers, experienced listeners, and anyone in between are presented 1 hour prior to the concert and is free with your concert ticket (excluding Holiday Magic). The talks will provide an engaging overview of the works being performed, talk about the story behind the music, the composer and historical context.
The symphony will partner with The Spot for beer and wine beverage service for patrons age 21 and over before the concert as well as during intermission. Funds raised will be used to support future symphony programming.
As a community service project, winter gloves and socks will be collected and donated to the Minot Area Men’s Winter Refuge at the concert. The refuge provides year-round service and shelter from Nov. 1 to April 30.
The symphony’s upcoming performances include “Holiday Magic” December 14, featuring MSU’s Emerson Eads and area choirs, “The Remarkable Farkle McBride” family concert – February 8 at 3pm, “Fun and Games” – March 8, and “The Titan” season finale on April 25 featuring the Heartland Marimba Quartet.
Season tickets are available and include a reserved seat and admission to all regular season performances. Season ticket prices for adults are $155 for balcony or $130 for main floor. Senior and student discounts are available. The symphony also offers a Flex Pass which includes 6 unreserved concert tickets for the price of 5. The Flex Pass can be used for multiple tickets to the same performance or spread out between performances. Individual main floor tickets are $25 or $30 for balcony with senior and student discounts available. Tickets are available at www.minotsymphony.com or through the box office at 701-858-4228.
The Minot Symphony Orchestra is a unique blend of student, community, and professional musicians from the Minot area. The symphony is directed by Maestro Efraín Amaya, assistant professor of music at Minot State University.
This project is supported in part by a grant from the North Dakota Council on the Arts, which receives funding from the state legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts.

You May Also Like…

The Taube Museum of Art

“Lobotomy” and “Preserving History” On Display Lino and Jamie Azevedo (MINOT, ND) The Taube Museum of Art is delighted to have Lino and Jamie Azevedo share their work on our walls this month. Lino Azevedo grew up in San Francisco and is currently pursuing a lifelong...

AFGSC welcomes new deputy commander

AFGSC welcomes new deputy commander

BARKSDALE AIR FORCE BASE, La. -- Air Force Global Strike Command welcomed Lt. Gen. Anthony Cotton as the new deputy commander of Air Force Global Strike Command and Air Forces Strategic-Air, U.S. Strategic Command, Oct. 28. Air Force Global Strike Command is...

Brass Band of Minot Presents “Brass Celebration”

The Brass Band of Minot is celebrating the coming season with a concert titled “Brass Celebration” at 4:00 PM on Sunday, November 10th at MSU’s Ann Nicole Nelson Hall. The band is the only British-style brass band in North Dakota and is directed by Gordon Troxel and...